Peace

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines peace as, “a state of calm and quiet; freedom from disturbing thoughts and emotions” (2004).

Philippians 4:6-7 reads, “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus” (New Living Translation).

“In peace I will lie down and sleep, for You alone, O LORD, will keep me safe” (Psalm 4:8, NLT).

In the midst of my life, God gives me peace.  It’s not a pat on the head, “oh, everything will be okay” kind of peace.  It is the deep down in the fibers of my being trust that God, the Creator of the universe, knows better than we do … than I do.  It is knowing and believing that He is taking the filth that Satan has smeared all over the world and turning it around for good.  Even when I can’t see it.  Even when it hurts too much to bear.  He bears it for me.

Every situation – no matter how huge or tiny – is in His hands.  He loves me, and that is why I have peace.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.