Stick With It

“Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2

Have you ever felt that life just gets in the way of you finishing what you started? Four weeks ago I began an online Bible study, and it has been nothing but a blessing to me. However, life is getting in the way. I work full time. I’m a wife, a mother, and a grandmother. On top of that, I attend college online part time. Add to the mix that my husband has felt called to start a home business that will free up more time (eventually) for the ministry to which we’ve been called. Oh yes, we’re also working on the ministry and church plant to which we’ve been called! Life … is … busy.

It sounds like a reasonable excuse, doesn’t it? But I have to confess something that might strike a chord with anyone out there whose life is “too busy.” Life is ALWAYS going to be busy. When we use that as an excuse not to finish a task … a job … a relationship … a Bible study … we’re doing ourselves and God a great disservice. I’ve become rather good at quitting things over the years. Too good. Every time, I had a valid what? Excuse. Oh, well, I was too busy with the kids when they were younger. Gee, work got busier than I expected. I have too much homework. The list goes on and on.

Now I am not saying there aren’t extenuating circumstances that really do occur, causing us to fall short of a goal. However, it is time that I take a good look at where God has called me, what He has called me to do, and to make up my mind through Him to stick with it.

Going back to my online Bible study, God has worked in my heart and life through His word, the book “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God,” and the fellowship of new online friends. I’ve become much more open to radical obedience to my Savior. How much would I miss out on if I were to let life get in the way – as it always seems to do – and quit now? That’s what Satan wants. That is not God’s desire.

Our faithfulness pleases our Father. When all is said and done, I want to be able to say, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith; in the future there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day; and not only to me, but also to all who have loved His appearing.” (2 Timothy 4:7-8)

2 thoughts on “Stick With It

  1. Love this post! That same verse from Hebrews has been on my mind all day. So glad you have decided to #StickWithIt…. and a wonderful reminder that we are always going to be “too” busy. Blessings to you as you continue in this study.
    Lauren, P31 OBS Small Group Leader

Leave a Reply

